Wooo! My blog’s first review!!! I got this yesterday, and it’s from The LEGO Batman Movie’s 2nd Minifigure series. Ok, so, Black Vulcan. A weird name, right? Well, I did some research and found out that he is a member of the DC’s TV show Super Friends. To be honest with you I have absolutely no idea how they came up with that name (I mean Super Friends, though Black Vulcan is equally befuddling), but that’s beside the point, so on with the review! (Before we do get on with the review, I’d like to mention that I’ll be doing a feelers’ guide on how to feel for this dude.)

fullsizeoutput_30

First off, I’d like to say sorry about the photos. I did my best, which sadly is not what I was hoping for. That aside, I hope you enjoy The Lego Geek’s first review. As you can see, he has the same helmet piece as The Flash, but more on that later. He comes with two lighting bolts to display his powers, which are basically being able to shoot electricity from his hands and being able to turn his lower half into electricity in order to fly/travel at incredible speeds. The printing on his legs and torso are nice and crisp, whereas the helmet piece printing has bled just a tiny little bit, but that is to be expected of a (partly to my disappointment) hard rubber piece.

fullsizeoutput_32

Here’s what his face looks like under the mask, and right away I’m loving it. He has a black mask with white eyes, and pronounced cheekbones. He looks just like he should, with the sort of smile that makes you feel like everything will be ok.

fullsizeoutput_33

As you can see here, the black print on the legs is continued. No arm printing, but I guess that’s not a major problem.

fullsizeoutput_34

On the back of Vulcan’s torso is the same design as on the front, albeit with a few differences. He has no flip side on his head, as per usual for LEGO Minifigure series. Apart from that, nothing much to see here.

fullsizeoutput_31

And now I think that it is time for a closer look at the accessories. in this photo, it’s a little clearer that the two sticky-outie thingies on the helmet do bleed slightly, but not enough for me to rant about. His weapons (?) are a pair of lightning bolts, which are for some reason not the same ABS plastic that flame pieces are made out of, but rather a sort of bendy plastic. Whatever that’s about.                                                                                               P.S.                                                                                                                                                             I forgot to take a photo of one of the best things that came with this figure, A.K.A the exclusive (to this series) baseplate with the Bat-Symbol on it, so I borrowed one from Jay on Jay’s Brick Blog. (I have permission.)

 

Baseplate

 

Feeler’s guide: For those of you out there who (like me) feel for specific minifigures you want to buy, I recommend trying to feel for the lightning bolts, which have a distinct shape, and are a bit bendy. That was how I did it, but, alternately, you could feel for the helmet.

7 thoughts on “71020: Black Vulcan

  1. Neat review! Nothing wrong with your photos except maybe for the one with the accessories you could have put a piece of paper underneath for a white background 🙂 Just a tip.

    I need to get to reviewing TLBM Series 2 on my blog too… o.o

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t even have Black Vulcan. I only got a few LEGO Batman Series 2 minifigures while it was still running.
        Ermagherd.

        Like

  2. I hope you keep on doing LEGO reviews! Can I give you a shoutout on my website (it’s at MadeofBlox.wordpress.com)?

    Like

Leave a comment